William Shakespeare – Sonnets

Shy love, I think of you 

As the morning air brushes the window pane, 
And how much time of all it takes to know 
The movement of your arm, the steps you take, 
The curves along your head, your ears, your hair. 
For all of this, each hand, each finger, 
Each lip, each breath, each sigh, 
Each word and sound of voice or tongue, 
 I would require an age to contemplate. 
     But for your heart your mind your thoughts, all these, 
     To love them all I need at least five centuries.

 

Sometimes I think 
Our heads might be enclosed 
Closer together upon the pillow’s space, 
And how into the dark deeps of your eyes 
I’d look and think of angels. Then your breath 
And all the aura of your body’s breathing 
Intoxicatedly would overwhelm me 
And I would die. For it is too much 
 That such a thing should be and I should live. 
     Surely the thought is greater than reality, 
     The sum of you and love outsteps infinity.

 

If happiness were like 
The flowers of June then I would take 
The best of them, roses and columbine, 
The lilies, and bind them in your hair. 
They are not more beautiful but they add 
Meaning to my love. For all our words 
Are short and lame of breath and stumble, 
And you surpass them though I know not why. 
 Shy love I think of you as the day wanes 
     And as the sun sinks deep into the ocean 
     And as the stars turn round above in silent motion.

Leave a Reply

